The Force

In the beginning, there was the force. The force surrounds us, it penetrates us, it holds the galaxy. The force is a fundamental physical constant, it is a field of force. The force is neither good nor bad.

Discovery of the force

Some scientists discovered the force a long time ago. These scientists were the first creatures who could prove that there is something, something strong. The problem was, these scientists couldn’t use the force – they were insensible for the force. They figured out that Tython, a planet, has a strong presence of the force, so they travelled to Tython to explore the force. After many years of research they find out that some scientists were sensitive for the force. Some people can feel, can control the force.

These people were the first Jedis!

The Divide

About half of the scientists thought that the force should be used to help the innocent and to keep freedom and peace. But the other half of the scientists wanted to use the force to suppress other beings. So the scientists were divided. The first war between light and dark began. The good scientists were nearly destroyed. The dark scientists have left Tython to suppress the galaxy. The survivors of the good scientists began to train their martial arts, it was the birth of Jedi Martial Forms and Lightsabres. Jedi-Knights were born.


The dark scientists found a planet called Korriban, with residents, which were strongly sensitive for the force. The race of these residents is called Sith. The sith race is humanoid but their skin is red and they have kind of tentacles in their faces. The sith were overwhelmed by the power of the dark scientists and so they began to worship to them. The sith became apprentices of the scientist. Sith were born.

Structure of the Jedi Order

Jedis are divided into four ranks. Jedi-Youngling, Jedi-Padawan, Jedi-Knight and Jedi-Master. There are some special ranks like Jedi-Grand Master but there aren’t many of them.

Your journey will begin as Jedi-Youngling. If you are sensitive for the force, the Jedi-Order will find you. You’ll become a youngling at the age of 2-4. Your apprenticeship will be completely held in the Jedi-Academy. You’ll learn the basics of the force, for example feeling the force, controlling the force. You will learn in classes, together with other younglings.

The next step of your journey becoming a Jedi will be Jedi-Padawan. Someday a Jedi will choose you as his Padawan. This means individualized teaching. Normally this happens at the age of 12-14. Your master can be a Jedi-Knight or Jedi-Master. Your lessons will be hold outside the academy.

You will become a Jedi-Knight if you pass the exams. This means you are not longer bound to your master. Your task will be to keep the peace in the galaxy. As Jedi-Knight you can take a youngling as your Padawan.

If one of you Padawans becomes a Jedi-Knight you will become a Jedi-Master. You can become Jedi-Master if you have a strong sense for the force, too. Also you can join the Jedi-Council.

Just few Jedi-Masters can become Jedi-Grand Master.

Known Jedi-Grand Masters

  • Fae Coven
  • Kenth Hamner
  • Sava Sebatyne
  • Satele Shan
  • Luke Skywalker
  • Vandar Tokare
  • Yoda
  • Zym

The Jedi-Order consists of four parts.

  • Order of knowledge, it watches over the Jedi archive
  • Order of mediation, it stops conflicts
  • Order of realignment, it handles Jedi-Corps*
  • High Council, highest instance of the Jedi-Order

The Jedi-Academy has four towers, one tower for each part. Jedi-Corps consists of Jedis that has failed the exams.

Force sensitivity


  • Humans
  • Kel Dors
  • Ithorians
  • Twi’leks
  • Zabraks
  • Yoda’s species
  • Nautolans
  • Sith
  • Duinuogwuins
  • Neti
  • Miraluka


  • Vornskr
  • Ysalamir
  • Taozin
  • Nighthunter
  • Beck-Tori
  • Akk-Dog
  • Jakobeast


Without the midi-chlorians, life could not exist, and we would have no knowledge of the Force. They continually speak to us, telling us the will of the Force. When you learn to quiet your mind, you'll hear them speaking to you. – Qui-Gon Jinn

Midi-chlorians are microscopically life forms. They live in cells of all living life forms, symbiotically with that being. A non-force-sensitive human has about 2,500 midi-chlorians per cell. A Jedi has much more. The highest known midi-chlorian concentration is about 20,000 per cell, found in Anakin Skywalkers cells. Midi-chlorians are used to talk to the force. Anakin Skywalker was maybe conceived by midi-chlorians. Darth Plagueis could control midi-chlorians, for example to create life.


Lightsabers are the traditional weapons of jedis. Lightsabers of younglings are just for training purposes, they can’t kill but they can harm you. Every jedi has to build his own Lightsaber. The hilt is about 24 to 30 centimeters and has a crystal inside. This crystal generates a light edge. Only a jedi can build a lightsaber. To put the components together he uses the force. Without using the force while building a lightsabers makes the lightsabre explode. Typically jedis are using green, yellow, blue and purple lightsabers. Sith are using red and purple lightsabers. To get a red lightsaber the crystal has to be molecular modified, just beings that are force sensitive can do that. Components of a lightsaber:

  • Lightsaber hilt
  • Pommel cap
  • Diatium power cell
  • Inert power insulator
  • Focusing lens
  • Lightsaber crystal
  • Emitter matrix
  • Blade emitter

Known types of lightsabers:

  • Standard Lightsaber
  • Photosaber (Lightsaber with external energy)
  • Double bladed Lightsaber
  • Guard Shoto (also known as Lightsaber tonfa)
  • Crossguard Lightsaber (Lightsaber with two edges)
  • Curved hilt Lightsaber (like Dokus Lightsaber)
  • Lightsaber Pike
  • Lightwhip

There is one special type of lightsaber it’s the darksaber. The edge has the form like a normal sword and it glows dark and black.

Jedi Code

There is no emotion, there is peace.
There is no ignorance, there is knowledge.
There is no passion, there is serenity.
There is no chaos, there is harmony.
There is no death, there is the Force.

The Jedi Code is a maxim jedis act on it. Every jedi must accept and follow this code. The opposite of the jedi code is the sith code.

Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
Through passion, I gain strength.
Through strength, I gain power.
Through power, I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me.

These codes are the guidelines for every force sensitive being. Every aspirant (Jedi or Sith) has to learn and understand these codes. In the case of Jedi code, no Jedi has every completely understand the Jedi code. Some Jedis are studying these lines there whole life.

Famous Jedis

  • Old Republic
    • Revan (was a Jedi before he became a sith)
    • Malak (was a Jedi before he became a sith)
    • Bastila Shan
    • Satele Shan
  • New Republic
    • Yoda
    • Anakin Skywalker (was a Jedi before he became a sith)
    • Obi Wan Kenobi
    • Luke Skywalker
    • Mace Windu
    • Qui-Gon Jinn
    • Dooku (was a Jedi before he became a sith)

Star Wars

QR Code
QR Code life_of_a_jedi (generated for current page)