Introduction to Chakra

What are chakras?

Chakras are our body’s personal energy centers. They have been described as small vortexes for energy to flow. We have seven main chakras that govern our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual wellbeing. Image Optimizer

Each chakra has a different color associated with it as well as a vibration or frequency. Red has the longest wavelength and the slowest vibrational frequency and violet has the shortest wavelength and the fastest frequency. Also, each chakra has certain organs and glands that they control. All seven chakra centers are aligned along the spinal column and are interconnected.

Understand, life happens and we get sick and sometimes depressed and these energy centers do get blocked and out of balance or even over worked. When this occurs, we are even more susceptible to various ailments, emotional imbalances and mental wellbeing. From time to time our chakras need to be adjusted, balanced and unblocked. In fact, regular chakra exercises and/or meditation will help keep your body healthy and alert.

The 7 Major Chakras


Chakras from the bottom up:

  1. Root Chakra: Red Located at the base of your spine or tailbone. This chakra is our foundation and sense of being grounded.
  2. Sacral Chakra: Orange Located in the abdomen area just below the naval. Sacral Chakra represents creativity, sexuality, and emotional connection to others.
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra: Yellow Located at the solar plexus or upper abdomen area. This chakra represents courage, vitality, self-confidence, and personal power. Also considered the power chakra.
  4. Heart Chakra: Green Located in the center of the chest. The heart chakra represents love, compassion and sense of peace.
  5. Throat Chakra: Sky Blue Located in the throat. This chakra represents communication and expression of feelings.
  6. Third Eye Chakra: Indigo Located in the center of the forehead just above the eyebrows. Third eye chakra represents our intuition, wisdom, intelligence, and psychic development
  7. Crown Chakra: Violet Located at the top of the head. This represents our spiritual connection.


Color: Red

Keynote: C

Frequency: 256 Hz.

Element: Earth

Shabd sound: Thunder / Earthquake

Body Parts:

  • Adrenal glands
  • Teeth
  • Bones / Legs / Feet
  • Large intestines

Healthy or Harmonious Chakra:

  • Good Health
  • Vitality
  • Prosperity
  • Feel safe and secure
  • Well grounded


  • Lack of stamina
  • Poor focus
  • Disorganization
  • Anxiousness / restlessness


  • Overeating
  • Sluggish
  • Greed or hoarding
  • Resistant to change
  • Lack of feeling secure

Physical Imbalances:

  • Lower back pain
  • Weight problems
  • Swollen extremities
  • Feeling lazy
  • Dry skin and hair
  • Hemorrhoids
  • Gas
  • Diarrhea
  • Constipation
  • Headaches
  • Knee pain
  • Exhaustion
  • Feeling of rage, anger and fear
  • Financial difficulties


Color: Orange

Keynote: D & C#

Frequency: 288 Hz.

Element: Water

Shabd sound: Ocean

Body Parts:

  • Ovaries
  • Testicles
  • Womb
  • Genitals
  • Kidney
  • Bladder
  • Circulatory system

Healthy or Harmonious Chakra:

  • Ability to accept change
  • Being creative
  • Enthusiastic


  • Lack of social skills
  • Lack of passion
  • Lack of excitement
  • Lack of libido


  • Addiction to pleasure
  • Obsessiveness
  • Sexual addiction

Physical Imbalances:

  • Urination problems
  • Depression
  • Mood swings
  • Lower back pain
  • Bladder / kidney stones or infections
  • Lack of libido
  • Sterility
  • Infertility
  • Jealousy
  • Miscarriages
  • Sexual addiction
  • Sexual diseases
  • Creative blocks


Color: Yellow

Keynote: E & Eb

Frequency: 320 Hz.

Element: Fire

Shabd sound: Roaring Fire

Body Parts:

  • Stomach
  • Liver
  • Pancreas
  • Digestive System

Healthy or Harmonious Chakra:

  • Reliability
  • Self confidence
  • Sense of humor
  • Feel peaceful


  • Lack of will power
  • Trouble following through
  • Unreliable
  • Feel worthless


  • Must have the last word
  • Arrogant
  • Aggressive
  • Controling
  • Temperamental
  • Overly ambitious

Physical Imbalances:

  • Middle back pain
  • Indigestion
  • Sugar / Salt cravings
  • Thirsty all the time
  • Gas
  • Diarrhea
  • Constipation
  • Bulimia
  • Obesity
  • Anorexia
  • Feeling of being overwhelmed


Color: Green

Keynote: F & F#

Frequency: 341.3 Hz.

Element: Air

Shabd sound: Wind

Body Parts:

  • Heart
  • Pericardium
  • Thymus
  • Lungs
  • Arms
  • Hands
  • Middle Back

Healthy or Harmonious Chakra:

  • Feeling of happiness
  • Willingness to help others
  • Loving


  • Lack of empathy
  • Lack of tolerance
  • Judgmental
  • Feeling of being unwanted


  • Jealousy
  • Clingy
  • Demanding

Physical Imbalances:

  • Heart attacks
  • Chest pain
  • Angina
  • Poor circulation
  • Asthma
  • Lung congestion
  • Blood Pressure problems
  • Pasty completion
  • Immune deficiency
  • Upper back pain
  • Lack of independence
  • Self-hatred


Color: Sky Blue

Keynote: G & G#

Frequency: 384 Hz.

Element: Sound

Shabd sound: Crickets

Body Parts:

  • Throat
  • Mouth
  • Teeth
  • Tongue
  • Thyroid glands
  • Neck
  • Shoulders
  • Jaw
  • Voice
  • Airways
  • Upper lungs

Healthy or Harmonious Chakra:

  • Expressive
  • Creative
  • Good timing and rhythm
  • Imaginative


  • Fear of speaking
  • Quiet / withdrawn
  • Difficulty expressing feelings


  • Talk too much
  • Loud
  • Do not listen
  • Assertive voice and blunt

Physical Imbalances:

  • Cold or allergy symptoms
  • Throat tickle / phlegm in throat
  • Coughing
  • Stress
  • Hyper feeling
  • Fatigue
  • Sore throats
  • Laryngitis
  • Fear of public speaking
  • Too talkative or too shy
  • Know-it-all syndrome
  • Feel the need to lie
  • Trouble speaking your mind
  • Thyroid disease
  • Anxiety
  • Hyperactivity
  • Lack of creativity
  • Nightmares


Color: Indigo

Keynote: A & Bb

Frequency: 426.7 Hz.

Element: Light

Shabd sound: Bells / Space

Body Parts:

  • Eyes
  • Ears
  • Head
  • Brain stem

Healthy or Harmonious Chakra:

  • Intuitive
  • Imaginative
  • Advanced intellectual skills


  • Lack of imagination
  • Poor vision
  • Poor memory
  • Cannot handle stress well


  • Difficulty concentrating
  • Obsessive
  • Delusional
  • Hallucinations
  • Nightmares

Physical Imbalances:

  • Cloudy thoughts or spacey
  • Too technical
  • Mind flooded with thoughts
  • Migraines
  • Forgetfulness
  • Cannot remember dreams
  • Cannot meditate
  • Poor eyesight
  • Tension
  • Cannot concentrate or focus


Color: Violet

Keynote: B

Frequency: 480 Hz.

Element: Thought

Shabd sound: Om

Body Parts:

  • Brain and head
  • Pineal and pituitary glands and their hormones
  • Healthy or Harmonious Chakra:
  • Intelligent
  • Thoughtful
  • Clear thinking
  • Spiritual connection
  • Analytical thinking
  • Open minded
  • Wisdom
  • Understanding
  • Insufficient:
  • Learning disabilities
  • Lack of self-worth


  • Overly intellect
  • Confusion

Physical Imbalances:

  • Inability to connect to physical world
  • Confusion
  • Headaches
  • Hallucinations
  • Mental illness
  • Worrisome
  • Nervous system imbalances
  • Poor short term memory
  • Poor coordination
  • Tired
  • Ringing in the ears
  • Dimming vision

There are many exercises that can be done to balance and clear blocked chakras. The most popular ways to do this is with meditation, breathing exercises, visualization, and of course yoga. There is a website called My Chakras at that has an extensive list of illnesses with the associated chakra.

You can view my other articles at sharkness

Health | Self-Help

QR Code
QR Code introduction_to_chakra (generated for current page)