This article is currently classified as incomplete, and is currently being finished by the devtome writers, primarily jdean1.


Continents are easily defined as large masses of land sitting on a tectonic plate/lithosphere. There are currently seven recognized continents: Africa, Antarctica, Australia, Asia, Europe, North America, and South America. Australia, although considered its own continent, is geographically considered part of Oceania which spans all most all of the surrounding islands.


Africa is one of the seven continents, which contains the countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Canary Islands, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Ceuta, Chad, Comoros, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Madeira, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Melilla, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Réunion, Rwanda, Saint Helena, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.


Madagascar is an island nation of the coast of Africa. It and the whole continent of Africa was beneficial in helping prove the theory of Continental Drift. They helped in the piece of evidence known as the fit of the continents. Africa looked like it fit into South America as a piece of a jigsaw puzzle, and Madagascar looked the same way to Africa.


Antarctica is a cold and icy continent located close to the North Pole. Although on maps Antarctica looks very large, it is truly only the size of about Australia. They look larger on maps because the Earth actually curves, making the space that they cover on the map much smaller. Antarctica is interesting as nobody controls the large glacier, although it does contain numerous nation's research bases. It is also known for an abundance of penguins, as they survive the best in the cold, Antarctic environment.


Australia is an island nation that is also considered its own continent. The nation is under the same name as the continent, Australia.


Asia is a large continent bordering Europe. Europe and Asia have only one physical border, the Ural Mountains. They serve as a natural land barrier inside Russia, to discriminate as either Europe or Asia. Communist governments are prevalent throughout such as in China and The People's Republic of Korea, or what is known as North Korea.


Europe contains many of the world's colonial empires such as the United Kingdom and France. This was also the location of World War I and World War II.

North America

North America spans Canada, the United States of America, and Mexico. After Mexico it is considered Central America. Currently there is some issues with migration from Mexico into the United States, and citizens of America are deeply split on this issue. This has led to some controversial bills such as SB1070 in Arizona.

Central America

Central America is a thin stretch of land located in the middle of North America and South America. Numerous countries reside inside of Central America, but it is not considered its own continent.

South America

South America is the Southern bottom section of the Americas, which as discusses earlier helped prove the theory of Continental Drift. This population is largely considered latino, with the main languages being Spanish or a similar language.


The Spanish language originated in Spain, but with their colonies, it spread throughout the world and is currently a popular language, although it has many varying types and dialects. Spanish from Spain can be different in many ways than that of Mexico for example.


QR Code
QR Code continents (generated for current page)